Skip to content

Open Your Mouth and Say “YES”

October 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to see our great country and help a friend. I got to date my wonderful wife of 30 years almost 30 times in September. I spent 2.5 full days learning Automotive management intensely. I fellowship and interacted with Automotive mechanics and Shop owners last month at IGO convention. I responded to assist Vienna FD run Medical. Rescue and Fire Calls. I helped 10 OA members hold their Vigil and br Honored for their service. I found Vienna’s Brotherhood while Honoring Member Mandy Dozier at her funeral. I was deeply saddened but consoled by Mandy’s spirit and the amazing outpouring of Love from Mt. Tabor UMC. She beat the Cancer but the treatment was too much. I learned one of life’s greatest lessons by being involved where I could be hurt both physically and emotionally by the loss of another Human being.
Luckily I am surrounded by the best of this world. People, friends and family and customers are the best ever. I have committee members, church members, co-workers,Family , and Fire Service Leaders volunteering and working for and with me. I mentor and teach and folks listen. I often feel woefully inadequate and am consistently amazed by the caliber of men and women around me. I am surrounded by Scouters with a burning enthusiasm to teach and mentor youth. I have the best officers and staff at Vienna. Give us a little victory during the year for both medical and rescue and fires and we will work tirelessly for the good of our community.
I started out thinking about the dreadful affects cancer can have on a body and family but the pain of hard work and effects of physical labor reminded me how really fortunate I was to be working. I am able to do many things because I volunteered to paint, build, work, cut,and pick up trash. I was led by my mentors and experienced many things because I have said YES!
Thanks MOM, Brian, Kathy, My #2 MOM and POP Marvin and Annie Mae Wilson. Roy and Opal Lewis, JD and Clara Beroth. Thanks to the whole Brookstown Church and Olivet Moravian Church membership. Thanks Youth leaders and all those in between. But Thanks Roberta, Jim and Paul and all my Great friends of whom I am deeply indebted

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment